Bookmark and Share

MMPA Honors Publishing Achievements

Thank you for another great year in Minnesota publishing

With 2017 in the books, we are grateful for all of our outstanding members and partners who made this a memorable year in publishing. We were proud to once again recognize many of you Nov. 2 at the 21st annual Excellence Awards gala at Aria in Minneapolis.

This year’s gala honored 276 award winners, with awards in design, editorial, digital and other categories going to publishers ranging widely in size and niche across the state.

Aside from the excellence awards, Gary Johnson, President of MSP Communications, was honored with the coveted Hedley Donovan award. Johnson took the podium and reflected on the vast and challenging changes that the magazine industry has experienced, and he acknowledged the deep professionalism of local and regional publishing staffs.

Three Greg Cary winners were recognized for their contributions to the publishing industry: Liz Keener of EP Media & Specialty Information; Laura Michaels of Franchise Times Corp.; and Galynn Nordstrom of Industrial Fabrics Association International.

The packed house of regional publishing professional appreciated the wit and pace of event emcees WCCO meteorologist Mike Augustyniak and WCCO reporter Kate Raddatz.

For a full list of 2017 Excellence Award winners, click here.